officer blog


jenna chapman

undergraduate education

transforming education awards: nominations open now!

Every year at uea(su), we recognise and celebrate those members of academic and teaching staff who are really making a difference to students with our Transforming Education Awards. This year, the nominations are open now! 

Laura Camfield, who was a winner at last years awards, told us what being nominated meant to her: 

"I was delighted to be nominated as PGR director of the year by a great cohort of DEV PhD students. These awards don’t only recognise charismatic teachers; they recognise people who contribute to every aspect of student experience and it’s an honour to have received one." 

13 awards are up for grabs, with several categories added since last year. The categories this year are: 

Advisor of the Year Award: 

This award is to recognise the pastoral support that advisors provide to students, enabling them to feel supported in decisions of academic or welfare areas and who help students when in need. 

Advocate for Students Award: 

The Advocate for Students Award is here to recognise a member of staff who goes above and beyond to put the students interests at the centre of what they do. This may be continuing a message from students up through the School, or be someone who fights for the student experience at every step. 

Advocate for PhD Students: 

This award recognises staff members who have shown dedication, enthusiasm and support to PhD students. This can include supervisors, or any other staff member a PhD student feels has strongly supported them and put the interests of PhD students at the forefront. 

Best PhD Associate Tutor of the Year Award: 

The award for Best PhD/Associate Tutor recognises visiting staff or those teaching as part of their PhD who have made a particular impression on their students.  

Course Representative of the Year Award: 

This award recognises reps who are committed, approachable and effective at creating change for their peers. 

Equality and Diversity in Teaching Award: 

This award is for teaching which is most inclusive of equality and diversity values. This could be taking into consideration different learning needs and styles or by creating a diverse and socially conscious curriculum. 

Most Innovative Teaching Award: 

The award for most Innovative Teaching recognises teaching which involves creative and new ways of using technology or teaching methods, including new and exciting forms of assessment and feedback. 

Most Inspiring Teaching Award: 

The award for Most Inspiring Teaching recognises passionate teaching that encourages and inspires students to believe in their abilities and to strive for the most out of their education. 

PhD Supervisor of the Year Award: 

This award for is to recognise the staff who go above and beyond in their duties supervising PhD students. They support their supervisee in their research, personal development and any hiccups along the way whilst studying for their PhD. 

Research-led Teaching Award: 

This award is to recognise academics who use cutting edge or specialist research in order to enhance and feed into students curriculum. 

Student Staff Liaison Committee of the Year Award: 

This award recognises the committee who have worked together to bring positive change for the students in their school. 

Student Partnership Officer of the Year Award: 

This award is to recognise the work of Student Partnership Officers in each area. Reasons could include whether they have gone the extra mile to encourage representation from all levels and courses in your School or regularly help students engage with representation and encourage to use the Student Voice. 

Support Staff Member of the Year Award: 

The award for Support Staff Member of the Year recognises non-academic staff who are friendly, helpful and supportive of students and who work with students to improve their service. 


If you know of a staff member who's gone above and beyond this year, you can nominate them here:  



No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.