officer blog


callum perry

undergraduate education

Transforming Education Awards round-up

Last Thursday we celebrated our annual Transforming Education Awards in the LCR. These awards celebrate academic and support staff who have gone above and beyond for students and are a great way for students to say thank-you to the staff who have supported them. 

Here is the full list of everyone who won and was shortlisted: 


Advisor of the Year Award: 

This award is to recognise the pastoral support that advisors provide to students, enabling them to feel supported in decisions of academic or welfare areas and who help students when in need. 


Karen McCullagh (LAW) 

Jenni Turner (ENV) 


Ulrike Theuerkauf (DEV) 

Natalie Thurston (EDU) 

Anna-Marie Fuller (CHE) 

Kirsty Henry (HSC) 

Kay Yeoman (BIO) 

Thomas Fitzgerald (PSY) 


Advocate for PhD Students: 

This award recognises staff members who have shown dedication, enthusiasm and support to PhD students. This can include supervisors, or any other staff member a PhD student feels has strongly supported them and put the interests of PhD students at the forefront. 


Michael Kyriacou (PPL) 


Mike Bernadin (LDC) 

Matthew Sillence (HUM) 


Advocate for Students Award: 

The Advocate for Students Award is here to recognise a member of staff who goes above and beyond to put the students interests at the centre of what they do. This may be continuing a message from students up through the School, or be someone who fights for the student experience at every step. 


Mark Hobbs (IIH) 


Dimitrios Dousios (NBS) 

Marisa Goulden (DEV) 

Adriana Sinclair (PPL) 

Fabio Arico (ECO) 

Victoria Warburton (EDU) 


Best PhD Associate Tutor of the Year Award: 

The award for Best PhD/Associate Tutor recognises visiting staff or those teaching as part of their PhD who have made a particular impression on their students.  


Charles Beacroft (HIS) 


Michael Kyriacou (PPL) 

Carmen Fisher (PSY) 

Kimberley Lockwood (AMA) 


Course Representative of the Year Award: 

This award recognises reps who are committed, approachable and effective at creating change for their peers. 


Charlie Norman (PSY) 

Maria Armes (PPL) 

Rosie Brookes (HSC) 


Kirsty Johnson (HSC) 

Laura Ali (AMA) 

Lizzie White (DEV) 

Anna Deas (AMA) 


Equality and Diversity in Teaching Award: 

This award is for teaching which is most inclusive of equality and diversity values. This could be taking into consideration different learning needs and styles or by creating a diverse and socially conscious curriculum. 


Francisco Costa (IIH) 


Helen Warner (PPL) 

Kavita Ramakrishnan (DEV) 

Martin Scott (DEV) 

Ratula Chakraborty (NBS) 


Most Innovative Teaching Award: 

The award for most Innovative Teaching recognises teaching which involves creative and new ways of using technology or teaching methods, including new and exciting forms of assessment and feedback. 


Tom Hargreaves (ENV) 


Laura Joyce (LDC) 

George Malcolm (PSY) 

Simon Lancaster (CHE) 

Rosalind Bark (ENV) 

Paul McDermott (PHA) 


Most Inspiring Teaching Award: 

The award for Most Inspiring Teaching recognises passionate teaching that encourages and inspires students to believe in their abilities and to strive for the most out of their education. 


Juliet Harrison (HSC) 


David Gilks (HIS) 

Ian Edwards (LAW) 

Mark Wilkinson (MED) 

Neil Cooper (PSY) 

Tom Hargreaves (ENV) 

Jessica Sharkey (HIS) 

Christopher Bell (ENV) 


PhD Supervisor of the Year Award: 

This award for is to recognise the staff who go above and beyond in their duties supervising PhD students. They support their supervisee in their reseach, personal development and any hiccups along the way whilst studying for their PhD. 


Stephen Robinson (BIO) 


Nikalaos Korfiatis (NBS) 

Agnieszka Bates (EDU) 

Aram Saeed (PHA) 

Leanne Stokes (PHA) 


Research-led Teaching Award: 

This award is to recognise academics who use cutting edge or specialist research in order to enhance and feed into students curriculum. 


Franco Mariuzzo (ECO) 


Guy Peryer (HSC) 

Jacqui O'Keefe (HSC) 

Stuart Rushworth (MED) 

Simon Horton (HSC) 

John-Mark Philo (LDC) 


Student Staff Liaison Committee of the Year Award: 

This award recognises the committee who have worked together to bring positive change for the students in their school. 


SSLC for Arts, Media and American Studies (AMA) 


SSLC for Politics, Philosophy, Languages and Communication Studies (PPL) 

SSLC for Health Sciences (HSC) 


Student Partnership Officer of the Year Award: 

This award is to recognise the work of Student Partnership Officers in each area. Reasons could include whether they have gone the extra mile to encourage representation from all levels and courses in your School or regularly help students engage with representation and encourage to use the Student Voice. 


Tom Phillips (IIH) 


Jessica Barker (AMA) 


Support Staff Member of the Year Award: 

The award for Support Staff Member of the Year recognises non-academic staff who are friendly, helpful and supportive of students and who work with students to improve their service. 


Lydia Blake (STS) 

Jackie Orford (PSY) 


Beverley Youngman (IIH) 

Charlie James (MED) 

John Thompson (HSC) 

Ian Mortimer (STS) 


The Vice Chancellors Award: 

This special award was added this year to recognise the best of the best out of the winners and was awarded to Juliet Harrison (HSC) 


University Teaching Fellowship: 

This award is another addition to this years' ceremony and was awarded to Dr Tom Hargreaves from the School of Environmental Sciences. He will receive an Excellence in Teaching bursary for three years for personal and professional development. 


I'd like to congratulate everyone who was nominated and shortlisted. We received over 450 nominations and whittling the entries down to a shortlist of 69 and then winners was very tough. The evening itself was a fantastic celebration of the staff at UEA and we're already looking forward to next years' event! 

Awards season at uea(su) continues next week with the Student Transformation Awards and Recognitions on the 17th May - get your tickets here


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.