Judo

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.

Fancy trying a new sport?

Come and try the Olympic martial art of Judo! You may have seen it in the Rio Olympics 2016, it's an exciting and dynamic Japanese martial art focussed on grappling, throwing technique, pins and submissions. It is an all inclusive sport that has seen many successes for Team GB in recent years, Team GB won a silver medal at the UK 2012 Olympics and a bronze at the 2016 Rio Olympics. More recently, Team GB players medalled at the Paris Grand Slam 2018, with Sally Conway winning Gold in the women's u70kg category, and Ashley Mckenzie winning Bronze in the men's u60kg category! 

Here is a YouTube link to the Paris Grand Slam 2018 highlights: watch 

Judo is a martial art that is highly effective in developing fitness, confidence and a new skill. It is also the type of sport that you need no prior experinece for. All sessions can cater towards multiple skill levels and no experience is needed. 

If you want to continue with Judo past trying out the sport, it is vital you sign up for British Judo Membership using the Student Voucher Scheme: svs   

Come and join us in Congregation Hall 01.19, our training times are:

Monday 18:00-20:00 (all players)

Thursday: 19:00-20:00 (advanced and competitive players only)

Friday 19:00-21:00 (all players) 

 

Like us on Facebook:  UEA Judo 

Follow us on Instagram:  ueajudo

 

Committee:

President & Head Coach:  Anouk Spreckelsen Brown (a.spreckelsen-brown@uea.ac.uk) 

Secretary & Social Sec:  Neith Charlesworth (N.Charlesworth@uea.ac.uk)

Treasurer:  Yanis Bensada (Y.Bensada@uea.ac.uk)

Health & Safety Officer:  Dennis Ammann (D.Ammann@uea.ac.uk)

Publicity Officer:  Pedro Antunes (P.Antunes@uea.ac.uk)

Union Council Rep:  Ahmad Malik (A.Malik@uea.ac.uk)

 

Coaches: 

Anouk Spreckelsen Brown:  UKCC BJA Level 2 Coach 

Neith Charlesworth:  BJA Level 1 Coach

Pedro Antunes:  BJA Level 1 Coach (pending certification)