Basketball Women

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.

Women's Basketball at UEA

We are a group of friendly girls from all around the world who enjoy playing basketball and making some great uni memories along the way. Our club caters to all abilities - whether you're a pro or a complete beginner, so don't be afraid to come along and try it out even if you've never played before. Basketball is a team sport and so team-work, socialising, and having fun, is pretty important to us too. 

 

Training Sessions: 

- Mondays at 20:20- 22:20 in the Main Arena of the Sportspark in Hall 5

- Tuesdays at 7:00-9:00 in the Main Arena of the Sportspark in Hall 3. 
- Fridays at 7:00- 9:00 in the Main Arena of the Sportspark in Hall 5.
- Sundays at 20:20-22:20 in Haydn Morris hall in the Sportspark in Hall 5. 

Sundays are first team training sessions whereas Tuesdays are for first and second team. Mondays and Fridays are available to everyone who wants to try out or join our development team! 


Competing: 
We have one team that competes in BUCS division 1 as well as the Norfolk local league and the Norfolk Iceni Trophy. Last year, we introduced a second team that will be competing in the Norfolk local league!!

The first team as well as second team is selected after trials in the beginning of term by our coach, Barry Ford, and the committee. Trials will be a series of drills and activities to determine everyone's skill level. Even if you're not interested in the competitive side of basketball, it'll still be a fun session. So come along to meet our coach and the rest of the team! 

Social Scene:
Outside of basketball, our club has brought together people from all over the world and created life-long friends. We organise many socials throughout the year that everyone in the club is invited to attend! We are all easy-going girls who are always interested in having a good night and we already have loads planned for this year - all you have to do is tag along!  

 

Achievements in 2017-2018:

  • Division 2 BUCS League Champions
  • BUCS Conference Cup Runner Up
  • Sports Award - BUCS League Team of the Year
  • Local League Champions
  • Local League Iceni Trophy Winners

Achievements in 2018-2019:

  • Introduced a 2nd team to the club
  • Sports Award - Progress Award (participation) Winner - for the amazing 200% increase in competing club members!
  • 3rd place in Local League Division 1 
  • 3rd in BUCS points

Committee of 2019-2020:

President: Marcela Lekston (m.lekston@uea.ac.uk)

Vice- President: Laura Parry (l.parry@uea.ac.uk)
Secretary: Mara Correia (m.de-pina-correia@uea.ac.uk)
Treasurer: Alexandra Seizani-Dimitriadi (a.seizani-dimitriadi@uea.ac.uk)
Social Secs: Alliah Perdigon (a.perdigon@uea.ac.uk)
                     Ufuoma Offeh (u.offeh@uea.ac.uk)
Health & Safety Officer: Kriti Bhatnagar (k.bhatnagar@uea.ac.uk)
Publicity Officer: Hana Sztepanov (h.sztepanov@uea.ac.uk) and Jennifer Collard (j.collard@uea.ac.uk)
Equality and Diversity Officer: Jennifer Collard (j.collard@uea.ac.uk)
Union Council Rep.: Morgan Trainer (m.trainer@uea.ac.uk)

Follow us on social media and join our facebook group for more information (UEA women's basketball 2019/2020). Feel free to ask any questions! 

Instagram: @ueawbc

No elections are currently running

-->