close

Basketball Women

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.

Products

Please log in to purchase products.

Women's Basketball at UEA

We are a group of friendly girls from all around the world who enjoy playing basketball and making some great uni memories along the way. Our club caters to all abilities - whether you're a pro or a complete beginner, so don't be afraid to come along and try it out even if you've never played before. Basketball is a team sport and so teamwork, socialising, and having fun, is pretty important to us too. 

Training Sessions: 

  • First Team
    • Mondays (7:00 - 9:00) strength & conditioning and shooting training
    • Mondays (19:00 - 20:40) Team training
    • Fridays (7:00 - 9:00) Team training 
  • Second Team
    • Tuesdays (7:00 - 9:00) Team training.
    • Sundays (13:00-15:00) Team training.
  • Third Team
    • Tuesdays (7:00 - 9:00) Team training.
    • Sundays (13:00-15:00) Team training.

The Sunday sessions will also be reserved for Local League games. When games are on, there will be no training session. We will always keep in contact with our players to let them know if there are any changes. 

Competing: 
We have one team that competes in BUCS Division 2, as well as the Norfolk local league and the Norfolk Iceni Trophy. We have a second team that has been running for three years now and will be competing in the Norfolk local league!

The club is growing, and we now have a third team. The impetus for creating this team was to allow members to develop current skills and acquire new ones.

The first team, as well as the second, are selected after trials at the beginning of term by our Claire Harper (Head Coach), Honey Parrot (Coach), and the committee. Trials will be a series of drills and activities to determine everyone's skill level. Even if you're not interested in the competitive side of basketball, it'll still be a fun session. So come along to meet our coaches and the rest of the team! 

DISCLAIMER: You will need to purchase a ticket to reserve your spot at the trial and taster sessions, please purchase a ticket from above. The tickets are FREE.

Social Scene:
Outside of basketball, our club has brought together people from all over the world and created life-long friends. We organise many socials throughout the year that everyone in the club is invited to attend! We are all easy-going girls who are always interested in having a good night and we already have loads planned for this year - all you have to do is tag along!  

 

Achievements in 2017-2018:

  • Division 2 BUCS League Champions
  • BUCS Conference Cup Runner Up
  • Sports Award - BUCS League Team of the Year
  • Local League Champions
  • Local League Iceni Trophy Winners

Achievements in 2018-2019:

  • Introduced the 2nd team to the club
  • Sports Award - Progress Award (participation) Winner - for the amazing 200% increase in competing club members!
  • 3rd place in Local League Division 1 
  • 3rd in BUCS points

Coaching team:

First Team:

  • Claire Harper
  • Honey Parrot (Student Coach)

Second and Third Team:

  • Amber Hutchinson (Student Coach)
  • Allisah Perdigon (Student Coach)
  • Alliah Perdigon (Student Coach)
  • Linda-Marie Nakibuuka (Student Coach)

 

Committee of 2021-2022:

Co Presidents: Allyson Olar (a.olar@uea.ac.uk)

                        Allisah Perdigon (allisah.perdigon@uea.ac.uk)

Vice- President: Amber Hutchinson (amber.hutchinson@uea.ac.uk)

Secretary: Jochebed Jiffur (J.Jiffur@uea.ac.uk)

Treasurer

Social Sec: Sofia Shelbourne (S.Shelbourne@uea.ac.uk)

Health & Safety Officer: Nádia Dias (N.Dias@uea.ac.uk)

Publicity Officer: Julia Llinas Cuart (J.Llinas-Cuart@uea.ac.uk)

Equality and Diversity Officer: Linda-Marie Nakibuuka (l.nakibuuka@uea.ac.uk)

Wellbeing Officer: Malena Sanz Young (M.Sanz-Young@uea.ac.uk)

Trips Officer: Mara Correia (m.de-pina-correia@uea.ac.uk)

Union Council Rep: Alliah Perdigon (alliah.perdigon@uea.ac.uk)

Follow us on social media and join our Facebook group for more information (UEA women's basketball 2019/2020). Feel free to ask any questions! 

Instagram: @ueawbc

 

 

No elections are currently running

No elections are currently running