The Trustee Board


In 2010 the Union set up its first ever charity-law compliant trustee board, in line with our application for charity status with the UK Charities Commission. The Trustee Board is the Union's governing body. The Trustess tobring both internal knowledge and external experience together to their work on the Board where they set the Union's strategic direction and ensure the Union's sustainability. The Board holds the Union's senior management to account for their performance in fulfilling the Union's charitable objectives.

In 2015 the Union incorporated as a company limited by guarantee and became a new charity with articles of association as our governing document.
Our Trustee Board consists of the five full time Officers, two part-time Officers and four External Trustees, as well as four Student Trustees, elected by Union Council and one Student Trustee elected by the Graduate Assembly. The Student Trustees cannot sit on Council or hold major Union Office.They, alongside the External Trustees, provide a voice on the Board that is independent of the Officers. The External Trustees are experts from outside the Union who are appointed for the skills they can bring to the work of the Board.

The Trustees declare any interests they have that might impact on the work of the Board; these are in the Register of Interests which you can find here

The Chair of the Board for 2019-20 is Callum Perry and the Deputy Chair is Martin Jopp.

Our current trustees

Officer Trustees: Student Trustees: Postgraduate Trustee External Trustees:
Amelia Trew Karolina Roszkowska   Dougie Stevens
Callum Perry Charlie Flanagan Part-Time Officer Trustees Kemi Watchorn
Ali Perez Samuel Chan Emma Moxon Ben Gibbins
Martin Marko   Afia Khan Martin Jopp
Sophie Atherton     Frances Fay
      Jeremy Clayton