close

student officers

Student Officers

Student officers are democratically elected by UEA Students to represent them to the University and the wider world, to lobby for their interests and make University life the best it can be.

Your student officers represent you! You can contact them about academic issues, clubs and societies, campaigns and more.

Elections

Elections are held every year for all student officer positions, usually between January and March. Any student can run! Find out more at our Elections page.

Full-time Officers

Full-time officers are students who are elected to take a sabbatical from their studies and become employees of uea(su), paid to represent your interests full-time to the University.

uea(su) has five full-time officers, representing Undergraduate Students, Postgraduate Students, Activities and Opportunities, Campaigns and Democracy, and Welfare, Community and Diversity. 

Part-time Officers

Part-time officers represent students' interests on a broad range of issues and students from all backgrounds. Part-time officers are elected to undertake their roles while continuing their studies, volunteering their time to make sure you are represented!

Meet the team

Undergraduate Education
Officer

 

Postgraduate Education
Officer

 

Welfare, Community &
Diversity Officer

 

Activities & Opportunities
Officer

 

Campaigns & Democracy
Officer

 

Part-Time
Officers

 

 

Student Officer Committee (SOC)

The 19 elected officers make up the Student Officer Committee (SOC) and are responsible for the day-to-day decisions and direction that the Union takes. They also lead campaigns and every day push for change on students’ behalf. 

Full Time Officers

Name

Position

Email address

Lizzie Payne

Activities and Opportunities Officer

Elizabeth.Payne@uea.ac.uk

Hamish Williams

Campaigns and Democracy Officer

Hamish.Williams@uea.ac.uk

Aaron Campbell

Welfare, Community and Diversity Officer

aaron.campbell@uea.ac.uk

Ivo Garnham

Undergraduate Education Officer

i.garnham@uea.ac.uk

Ayane Hida

Postgraduate Education Officer

A.Hida@uea.ac.uk

 

Part Time Officers

Name

Position

Email address

Sophie Atherton

Non-portfolio Officer

s.atherton@uea.ac.uk

Tristan Michel Cyril Politt

Non-portfolio Officer

T.Pollitt@uea.ac.uk

Meg Watts

Environmental Officer

megan.watts@uea.ac.uk

Kate Adler

Ethical Issues Officer

k.adler@uea.ac.uk

Alexandru Biteanu

International (EU) Officer

a.biteanu@uea.ac.uk

Miriam Hussein

International (Non-EU) Officer

m.hussein@uea.ac.uk

Patrycja Poplawska

Women’s Officer

p.poplawska@uea.ac.uk

Megan Anderson

Invisible Disabilities Officer

m.anderson1@uea.ac.uk

Serene Shibli Sexton

People of Colour Officer

S.Shibli-Sexton@uea.ac.uk

Chris Njoroge

Black Students' Officer

c.njoroge@uea.ac.uk

Hannah Lambert

Mature Students Officer

h.lambert@uea.ac.uk

Alix Green

LGBT+ (Open place) Officer

mcf19jtu@uea.ac.uk

Dean J. Smith

LGBT+ Officer (Trans & Non Binary Place) 

dean.smith@uea.ac.uk

If you cannot access this election, please email E.DAmery@uea.ac.uk with your name and the position you wish to nominate yourself for, and we can mannually add you.