Maddie Colledge

postgraduate education
m.colledge@uea.ac.uk

Thu 25 May 2017

University fails students through neglecting to assess impact of course closures

UEA’s decision to cut their postgraduate counselling courses for 2017/18 has left me questioning everything that our...
No comments
Thu 18 May 2017

Dissertation Support

As all Postgraduate students will know, research is extremely important in dissertation planning – so why is there no standardised...
No comments
Tue 09 May 2017

We've already hit breaking point, where is the mental health strategy

I often hear “we love UEA- but we want UEA to be even better”. Our relationship with the...
1 comment
Thu 04 May 2017

Representing Postgraduates at the NUS Sections Conference

After working all year to improve support for Postgraduate students here at UEA, it’s now time for us...
No comments
Thu 09 Mar 2017

summer support at UEA

Summer can be the most stressful time in a postgraduate student’s course. As dissertation work piles up for...
No comments
Thu 02 Mar 2017

university considers axing small courses and modules

A squeeze on higher education funding means that the University is considering cutting courses and modules that only have a...
No comments
Thu 23 Feb 2017

transforming education

Postgraduate students and staff are brilliant, and this is why I want to get them involved in the Transforming Education...
No comments
Thu 16 Feb 2017

fighting for self-certified extensions

The university is currently reviewing its policy on self-certified extensions, and I want to make sure students get two...
No comments
Thu 09 Feb 2017

how do you pay for your master's?

As many students will know, being accepted on to your dream master’s course is only one hurdle in...
No comments
Thu 02 Feb 2017

does plagiarism translate?

Every year the University investigates dozens of international students for plagiarising. Instead of punishing the students, I think that we...
No comments
Fri 27 Jan 2017

finally, a library for integrated master's students

We’re pleased to announce that final year integrated master’s students have been granted rights to the...
No comments
Thu 19 Jan 2017

Cheap sports classes for PG students

There are 62 sports clubs at UEA, and I’ve been busy working to keep them accessible to postgraduate...
No comments
Thu 15 Dec 2016

the white paper: changes to research funding

On 16 May 2016, the government released the White Paper, titled ‘Success is a Knowledge Economy: Teaching Excellence, Social...
No comments
Thu 08 Dec 2016

PGR Loans: Is this actually what we want?

Each year, dozens of promising PhD proposals aren’t given funding because of the pressure on resources. Between the...
No comments
Thu 01 Dec 2016

postgraduate|su funding: supporting research interests

At postgraduate|su, we’re committed to financially supporting postgraduates in their academic studies. Though some postgraduates are given...
No comments
Thu 24 Nov 2016

representing the academic interests of postgraduates

Postgraduate students make up 30% of the population at UEA – and their academic interests need representing as much as...
No comments
Thu 17 Nov 2016

I'm committed to improving postgraduate events

It’s time Unions stop patronising postgrad students, and create events that actually reflect their interests. There are approximately...
No comments
Thu 10 Nov 2016

let's talk about PGR mental health

Postgraduate mental health has reached crisis point across the country - and the worst part is, nobody is talking about it...
No comments
Thu 03 Nov 2016

bridges within the postgraduate community

Postgraduate taught courses are facing breaking point. Across the country, taught courses are being cut and replaced with more generalised...
No comments
Thu 27 Oct 2016

fighting for the academic interests of integrated master's students

This year, we’ve had increasing number of students making complaints about the lack of support on integrated master...
No comments