Transforming Education Awards

Nominations are now open! To nominate please head here.











These awards are held by the Students' Union in order to recognise and reward the hard work that is put in to your education by the academic staff and support staff within the University, in order to transform you from students to successful graduates. 

There are 13 awards which you can nominate for, several new since last year. We also have The David Richardson Award which will recognise the best of the best of the winners at the event. 

For the first year we'll also be working with the Universitys Teaching Fellows, to provide student opinion on colleagues in the University who should be recognised via a University Teaching Fellowship for their excellence in teaching. One winner at the awards will receive a University Teaching Fellowship, to find out more head to 


The awards open for nominations are:

Advisor of the Year Award:

This award is to recognise the pastoral support that advisors provide to students, enabling them to feel supported in decisions of academic or welfare areas and who help students when in need.

Advocate for Students Award:

The Advocate for Students Award is here to recognise a member of staff who goes above and beyond to put the students interests at the centre of what they do. This may be continuing a message from students up through the School, or be someone who fights for the student experience at every step.

Advocate for PhD Students:

This award recognises staff members who have shown dedication, enthusiasm and support to PhD students. This can include supervisors, or any other staff member a PhD student feels has strongly supported them and put the interests of PhD students at the forefront.

Best PhD Associate Tutor of the Year Award:

The award for Best PhD/Associate Tutor recognises visiting staff or those teaching as part of their PhD who have made a particular impression on their students. 

Course Representative of the Year Award:

This award recognises reps who are committed, approachable and effective at creating change for their peers.

Equality and Diversity in Teaching Award:

This award is for teaching which is most inclusive of equality and diversity values. This could be taking into consideration different learning needs and styles or by creating a diverse and socially conscious curriculum.

Most Innovative Teaching Award:

The award for most Innovative Teaching recognises teaching which involves creative and new ways of using technology or teaching methods, including new and exciting forms of assessment and feedback.

Most Inspiring Teaching Award:

The award for Most Inspiring Teaching recognises passionate teaching that encourages and inspires students to believe in their abilities and to strive for the most out of their education.

PhD Supervisor of the Year Award:

This award for is to recognise the staff who go above and beyond in their duties supervising PhD students. They support their supervisee in their reseach, personal development and any hiccups along the way whilst studying for their PhD.

Research-led Teaching Award:

This award is to recognise academics who use cutting edge or specialist research in order to enhance and feed into students curriculum.

Student Staff Liaison Committee of the Year Award:

This award recognises the committee who have worked together to bring positive change for the students in their school.

Student Partnership Officer of the Year Award:

This award is to recognise the work of Student Partnership Officers in each area. Reasons could include whether they have gone the extra mile to encourage representation from all levels and courses in your School or regularly help students engage with representation and encourage to use the Student Voice.

Support Staff Member of the Year Award:

The award for Support Staff Member of the Year recognises non-academic staff who are friendly, helpful and supportive of students and who work with students to improve their service.


Nominations are now open! To nominate please head here.


If you have any questions or would like more information please email Lindsay at